Subject: The Olive Garden uses pork in their sauces!
We appreciate your concern regarding pork products in our menu items. Pork is
primarily used as a flavor enhancer and traditionally is a common ingredient in
Italian cooking. Entrees that do contain pork include:
Spaghetti with Meat Sauce
Spaghetti & Meatballs
Cheese Ravioli with Meat Sauce
Tour of Italy
Create a Sampler Italiano
Create Your Own Pizza
Chicken & Shrimp Carbonara
A few of our menu items can be adjusted to accommodate a vegan or vegetarian
diet, but none wholly meet the criteria. Depending on your personal philosophy,
we can suggest the following items as meatless, but not necessarily vegetarian
Minestrone soup (vegetable and mushroom base; no meat protein)
Garden Salad (without dressing)
Marinara Sauce (mushroom base; no meat protein)
Olive Garden uses pork in almost everything, without saying so on their menu. In fact, the Pasta e Fagoli soup, while saying it is made with beef, is made with pork! The following was quoted from their web site located at the address below, but they have since changed the site and ingredients can no longer be found on the site. Chances are the ingredients have not changed with the site.
Does Olive Garden use pork in its recipes?
Pork is primarily used as a flavor enhancer and traditionally is a common ingredient in Italian cooking. Pork is included in our meat sauce. With some advance notice, our managers would be happy to accommodate your diet by specially making a ground beef meat sauce to accompany your choice of pasta.
The Church of God Proclaimed